Stories of Why We Walk

Walking to raise money for those in need of food  Hlawn

Hard work brings success in the U.S.

Hlawn Kip Tlem, an ethnic Chin from Burma, graduated from Southport High School, in Indiana, this summer. Before coming to the U.S., she and her family lived in Malaysia.

“I was not allowed to go to school [in Malaysia]. Finally my family came to the United States. I struggled to adjust to the American way of living and knew that success will only happen if I work hard. I graduated high school with a 4.0 GPA, but also Eli Lilly offered me a four-year scholarship. I will be studying Engineering at the University of Evansville.

“On behalf of Chin refugees, I want to say thank you to Church World Service for what you have provided us.”

One thought on “Stories of Why We Walk

Leave a Reply

